Industry Leaders

We proudly recognized the following award recipients for 2022 each of whom demonstrate exemplary leadership within our industry.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a professional whose many years of service to the bankruptcy community has demonstrated the highest levels of professionalism, leadership and integrity.

Kenneth A. Rosen | Lowenstein Sandler, Of Counsel & Chair Emeritus, Bankruptcy & Restructuring Department

With more than 35 years of proven experience, Ken is the first call for companies seeking a strategic plan for recovery from financial distress.  Ken advises on the full spectrum of restructuring solutions, including Chapter 11 reorganizations, out-of-court workouts, financial restructurings, and litigation.  He works closely with debtors, creditors’ committees, lenders, landlords, and others in such diverse industries as paper and printing, food, furniture, pharmaceuticals, health care, and real estate.

Hugh Leonard Award

Hugh M. Leonard was an icon in the New Jersey bankruptcy bar. He devoted himself to constantly improving the practice of bankruptcy law. In honor of his legacy this award is presented annually to a person who has demonstrated a long-standing commitment to helping improve the bankruptcy community.

Marie-Ann Greenberg | Chapter 13 Standing Trustee for the U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Newark

Marie-Ann Greenberg serves as the Chapter 13 Standing Trustee for the U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Newark vicinage since 2004.  As such, she administers all facets of the Chapter 13 cases in the vicinage, appears at confirmation hearings and motions and conducts 341a hearings.  Ms. Greenberg is a Fellow in the American College of Bankruptcy and has served on the pro-bono grant committee for the past three years.  She co-chaired the 2022 William H. Gindin Bankruptcy Bench Bar Conference in 2022 and spoke at the event and also chaired the 2022 Chapter 13 Symposium.

Volunteer of the Year Award

The Volunteer of the Year Award recognizes a professional whose leadership and hard work has demonstrated a devotion to the missions of the Foundation and of the Association.

Nona L. Ostrove

Nona L. Ostrove has been in private practice for 42 years.  After earning a B.A. with magna cum laude from Allegheny College and election to Phi Beta Kappa, she pursued a J.D. at Rutgers Law School.  Located in Voorhees, her practice focuses on bankruptcy and community association law.  Nona is a charter member and current member of the executive committee of the New Jersey Bankruptcy Lawyers Foundation.  A consistent financial supporter of the Foundation she helped craft the current discretionary grant program, serves on the panel reviewing the applications for the discretionary grants and actively participates in the Foundation’s Financial Literacy Program (FLiP) presentations for high school students in South Jersey.

Future Leader

The Future Leader Award recognizes a young professional who exemplifies the principles of both organizations with their commitment to excellence, leadership and service to the bankruptcy community.

Rebecca Earl | Career Law Clerk for the Honorable Michael B. Kaplan, Chief Judge of the Bankruptcy Court in the District of New Jersey

Rebecca Earl graduated with a B.A. in History from Lehigh University in 2005 and received her J.D. from Rutgers Law School in Camden in 2008.  After graduating law school, she clerked for a Superior Court Judge in the Family Part in Burlington County, New Jersey.  During her time with the federal court in New Jersey, Becca has given several districtwide presentations on bankruptcy and other topics.  She assists with the Court’s annual Summer Intern Program–helping to transition it to an entirely virtual platform during the pandemic–and is on the Rules Committee.  Outside of Court, Beca is involved in several professional organizations, serves on the board of IWIRC-NJ, maintains a busy social schedule, and is consistently working on personal side projects.